Rocking Aspens

As promised, my cousin took me to see the Aspens today. 

We weren’t able to make the trek all the way to Rocky Mountain National Park, but where we did go was absolutely delightful. 

Mud Lake is just outside the town of Nederland, known for it’s quirky nature. Many people who aren’t happy with the gentrification of Boulder have been moving to Nederland, giving it a hippie, homie feel. 

There is even a classic carousel, known as the Carousel of Happiness, that offers great entertainment and history to the younger crowd. My cousin’s son loves it, so we had to be sure to ride before heading back home. 

The 1910 carousel has an interesting story. Visit the website to learn more about the history and community impact of this unique merry-go-round. 

Back to Mud Lake. 

There are several trails around the lake, none of which were too difficult. Perfect for the little man traveling with us. 

  
The crisp autumn weather provided a perfect climate to enjoy the many types of trees. There’s one that apparently smells like butterscotch, which I found interesting, but my favorite were definitely the aspens. 

Whenever conversations about autumn and Colorado come up, all I hear is how gorgeous the aspen trees are. Ever since I decided to make this trip, seeing those trees were at the top of my list to see. 

There were a lot of coniferous trees around Mud Lake, so the region wasn’t as bright yellow/orange as many pictures you’ll see of Colorado in the fall. Those pictures are probably from places like Rocky Mountain National Park, but the trees we saw were no less gorgeous or glamorous. 

  
In fact, the pockets of yellow among the evergreens made them even more brilliant and stunning. Their small leaves were sprinkled along the edge of the path, as if marking the way for our journey. 

I picked up a few leaves from the ground as keepsakes and “presents.” I had had a flute student, when I was telling her about this trip and the aspens, ask me what type of music they played because she thought they were a band (free idea for you all – you’re welcome), so I’ll sign one of the leaves for her. I’m sure she’ll love it. 

Upon closer inspection, it even looked as if the trees had eyes. While I don’t believe in them, I can definitely understand how people came to the conclusion that wood nymphs and other sorts of woodland spirits exist when I see things like that. When I see it, I think of how wonderful and creative Creator we have to have made such beautiful things for us to admire and appreciate. 

  
When we left Mud Lake, I felt satisfied and content. My one desire for this trip has been fulfilled. 

Only one and a half days left! Let’s hope I make the most of them. 

-Wandering Minstrelette

Leave a Reply

