Thankfulness

When I wrote my piece about Robin Williams back in August, I had no idea what kind of impact it would have.

It has become the most read and most commented on post of my blog. My mother, being her proud motherly self, decided to print out the post and share it with someone at my church. This gentleman happened to work for Adventist World, a major Seventh-day Adventist Church magazine. He asked if he could publish my writing and I, flabbergasted, said, “Of course!”

The October issue featured my article in the North American Division perspective. It was all very exciting, but that wasn’t the end of it.

People at church approached me to thank me for speaking up about the stigma held against those who have committed suicide and their families. The article was shared on Facebook. I got phone calls to my house! And the comments some of you have left on the post itself have left me breathless.

I am overwhelmed by how God has used my writing, originally (essentially) a rant on the need for us, as God’s people, to change our perspective on those who are hurting, to touch the lives of people across the United States and possibly even beyond. Hearing the stories of those who have contacted me has been emotional but also uplifting. I am humbled, honored, and blessed.

Above all, I am thankful to have been used by God as an instrument of peace, encouragement, and hope to those who came across my writing. May God choose to use me again to bring you blessings.

To those who contacted me, you are in my prayers. For those who have read, but haven’t written, I would love to hear your story. And if you have a story of when God has used you or you’ve learned a lesson in thankfulness, I’d love to hear that, too.

It is the season, after all, to remind ourselves what it means to be filled with thankfulness.

-Wandering Minstrelette

One thought on “Thankfulness”

  1. Minha querida, realmente não lembro se comentei teu texto, acho que sim, porque ele é fantástico. Sei que passei para a frente. Bjos, Silvia

Leave a Reply

